News Book News | Written by Ed Fortune 18/08/2019

HUGO AWARDS 2019 Winners Announced

The winners of the 2019 Hugo Awards have been announced. The lovely rocket shaped awards were presented on this Sunday evening – August 18th, 2019 – at a ceremony at the 77th World Science Fiction Convention at the CCD Dublin, Ireland.

It was a rather good ceremony, with the awards being presented with both style and grace by the hosts, Afua Richardson and Michael Scott. Highlights included a splendid musical interlude with Afua accompanied by the Irish Video Game Orchestra. Ada Palmer gave a fantastic opening speech, though they were some slight technical issues with the closed captioning.

Other highlights included a rousing acceptance speech from Campbell winner Jeanette Ng, who refered to the long deceased John W Campbell as a 'fucking facist' in her remarks. Fanfic enablers The Orgnisation for Transformative Works took home the Hugo for Best Related Work, for their website An Archive Of Our Own (AO3). As part of their response, AO3's representatives raised the house lights and asked members of the audience who contribute to the site to stand up. Their Hugo will go on tour, so all fans can see it.

A full list of winners is below.

Best Novel The Calculating Stars, by Mary Robinette Kowal (Tor)

Best Novella Artificial Condition, by Martha Wells ( Publishing)

Best Novelette “If at First You Don’t Succeed, Try, Try Again,” by Zen Cho (B&N Sci-Fi and Fantasy Blog, 29 November 2018)

Best Short Story “A Witch’s Guide to Escape: A Practical Compendium of Portal Fantasies,” by Alix E. Harrow (Apex Magazine, February 2018)

Best Series Wayfarers, by Becky Chambers (Hodder & Stoughton / Harper Voyager)

Best Related Work Archive of Our Own, a project of the Organization for Transformative Works

Best Graphic Story Monstress, Volume 3: Haven, written by Marjorie Liu, art by Sana Takeda (Image Comics)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse, screenplay by Phil Lord and Rodney Rothman, directed by Bob Persichetti, Peter Ramsey and Rodney Rothman (Sony)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form The Good Place: “Janet(s),” written by Josh Siegal & Dylan Morgan, directed by Morgan Sackett (NBC)

Best Professional Editor, Long Form Navah Wolfe

Best Professional Editor, Short Form Gardner Dozois

Best Professional Artist Charles Vess

Best Art Book The Books of Earthsea: The Complete Illustrated Edition, illustrated by Charles Vess, written by Ursula K. Le Guin (Saga Press /Gollancz)

Best Semiprozine Uncanny Magazine, publishers/editors-in-chief Lynne M. Thomas and Michael Damian Thomas, managing editor Michi Trota, podcast producers Erika Ensign and Steven Schapansky, Disabled People Destroy Science Fiction Special Issue editors-in-chief Elsa Sjunneson-Henry and Dominik Parisien.

Best Fanzine Lady Business, editors Ira, Jodie, KJ, Renay & Susan

Best Fancast Our Opinions Are Correct, hosted by Annalee Newitz and Charlie Jane Anders

Best Fan Writer Foz Meadows

Best Fan Artist Likhain (Mia Sereno)

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer Jeannette Ng (2nd year of eligibility)

Lodestar Award for Best Young Adult Book Children of Blood and Bone, by Tomi Adeyemi (Henry Holt / Macmillan Children’s Books)

A full breakdown of the awards can be found here.