News Book Event News | Written by EdFortune 01/08/2020

2020 Hugo Award Winners Announced

The winners of the 2020 Hugo, Lodestar and Astounding Award Winners have been announced. The ceremony took place online as part of ConZealand, a virtual Worldcon. It was a challenging technical environment in which to produce the ceremony, and the many volunteers rose to the occasion.

It was a night of excellent speeches, with many winners taking the time to highlight injustices not only around the world but in the industry itself. Notable speeches included those by Jeanette Ng, R.F. Kuang and Bogi Takács.

The Toastmaster was George RR Martin, who has been a life-long regular attendee of Worldcons. The Game of Thrones author was heavily criticised via social media for not only getting the pronunciation of the names of various nominees and winners wrong but also for taking the time to regale his captive audience with tales of Worldcon’s long and specific history. This made a very long ceremony seem much longer to many.

An edit of the ceremony produced by blogger Reading Outlaw in which the Toastmaster talks less, is two hours shorter. It can be found here.

Best Novel A Memory Called Empire, by Arkady Martine (Tor; Tor UK)

Best Novella This Is How You Lose the Time War, by Amal El-Mohtar and Max Gladstone (Saga Press; Jo Fletcher Books)

Best Novelette Emergency Skin, by N.K. Jemisin (Forward Collection)

Best Short Story “As the Last I May Know”, by S.L. Huang (, 23 October 2019)

Best Series The Expanse, by James S. A. Corey (Orbit US; Orbit UK)

Best Related Work “2019 John W. Campbell Award Acceptance Speech”, by Jeannette Ng)

Best Graphic Story or Comic LaGuardia, written by Nnedi Okorafor, art by Tana Ford, colours by James Devlin (Berger Books; Dark Horse)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form Good Omens, written by Neil Gaiman, directed by Douglas Mackinnon (Amazon Studios/BBC Studios/Narrativia/The Blank Corporation)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form The Good Place: “The Answer”, written by Daniel Schofield, directed by Valeria Migliassi Collins (Fremulon/3 Arts Entertainment/Universal Television)

Best Editor, Short Form Ellen Datlow

Best Editor, Long Form Navah Wolfe

Best Professional Artist John Picacio

Best Semiprozine Uncanny Magazine, editors-in-chief Lynne M. Thomas and Michael Damian Thomas, nonfiction/managing editor Michi Trota, managing editor Chimedum Ohaegbu, podcast producers Erika Ensign and Steven Schapansky

Best Fanzine The Book Smugglers, editors Ana Grilo and Thea James

Best Fancast Our Opinions Are Correct, presented by Annalee Newitz and Charlie Jane Anders

Best Fan Writer Bogi Takács

Best Fan Artist Elise Matthesen

Lodestar Award for Best Young Adult Book Catfishing on CatNet, by Naomi Kritzer (Tor Teen)

Astounding Award for the Best New Science Fiction Writer, sponsored by Dell Magazines R.F. Kuang (2nd year of eligibility)

The full list of finalists can be found here.

Please note delivery times may be affected by the current global situation. Dismiss