Book Review: THE CORPSE RAT KING

PrintE-mail Written by Ed Fortune

The Corpse Rat King Review

Book Review: The Corpse Rat King / Author: Lee Battersby / Publisher: Angry Robot  / Release Date: Out Now

First impressions count in storytelling as much as they do in reality, so when we first meet Marius Hellespont, the protagonist of The Corpse Rat King, we see him picking the belongings of the bodies of fallen soldiers, and know exactly how far this man can fall. Or so we think. Rather than being some sort of dark, gritty fantasy cliché, filled with sorrow, lament and introspection on how precious every moment is, what we get is a well pitched fantasy romp filled with good ideas and clever moments.

Poor Marius picks the wrong corpse, that of the recently slain king, and for his troubles, finds himself thrust into the land of the dead, cursed to roam the land looking for someone to rule the underworld. Of course, being less hero and more a weasel in human form, Marius does his best to out-run his fate, which presents a lot of problems as the dead are everywhere, and far outnumber the living.

Battersby mixes dark sensibilities with a pitch perfect sense of humour and strong talent for action. The main characters are likeable enough, and it is written in an easy going, cinematic style that really suits the story. We get immersed into the land of Scorby, with its mad kings, endless poor and hidden magic, whilst somehow keeping a foot in the real world, despite a heavy dose of wild fantasy. This is a tale of con-men, their victims and the undead, and will appeal to fans of Scott Lynch or Mark Lawrence, or anyone who likes a not-so-loveable rogue.



Suggested Articles:
Genres can be a bit of bother, sometimes. You’ll often hear authors comment about how labels such
Intestinal parasites, books bound with human skin, killer seaweed. Welcome to the twisted world of A
Trying to develop a fantastical world through an outsider’s eyes is always a challenge. It’s eve
We're a few centuries into the future and humans live on different planets in an uneasy cooperation
scroll back to top

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Other articles in Book Reviews

THE FIREMAN 26 June 2016

AMARANTHINE AND OTHER STORIES 26 June 2016

INFERNAL 26 June 2016

SUPER EXTRA GRANDE 21 June 2016

REMADE 21 June 2016

THE HATCHING 21 June 2016

ALICE (CHRONICLES OF ALICE 1) 20 June 2016

DUSKFALL 19 June 2016

JOHN CARTER: WARLORD OF MARS VOLUME 2: MAN-MADE MONSTER 17 June 2016

DEAD VENGEANCE 17 June 2016

- Entire Category -

Sign up today!
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner

      
      
 
 
 
...
 
 
...
 

Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner