Book Review: THE CORPSE RAT KING

PrintE-mail Written by Ed Fortune

The Corpse Rat King Review

Book Review: The Corpse Rat King / Author: Lee Battersby / Publisher: Angry Robot  / Release Date: Out Now

First impressions count in storytelling as much as they do in reality, so when we first meet Marius Hellespont, the protagonist of The Corpse Rat King, we see him picking the belongings of the bodies of fallen soldiers, and know exactly how far this man can fall. Or so we think. Rather than being some sort of dark, gritty fantasy cliché, filled with sorrow, lament and introspection on how precious every moment is, what we get is a well pitched fantasy romp filled with good ideas and clever moments.

Poor Marius picks the wrong corpse, that of the recently slain king, and for his troubles, finds himself thrust into the land of the dead, cursed to roam the land looking for someone to rule the underworld. Of course, being less hero and more a weasel in human form, Marius does his best to out-run his fate, which presents a lot of problems as the dead are everywhere, and far outnumber the living.

Battersby mixes dark sensibilities with a pitch perfect sense of humour and strong talent for action. The main characters are likeable enough, and it is written in an easy going, cinematic style that really suits the story. We get immersed into the land of Scorby, with its mad kings, endless poor and hidden magic, whilst somehow keeping a foot in the real world, despite a heavy dose of wild fantasy. This is a tale of con-men, their victims and the undead, and will appeal to fans of Scott Lynch or Mark Lawrence, or anyone who likes a not-so-loveable rogue.



Suggested Articles:
BBC Books has republished the three novels which began the Doctor Who literary phenomenon back in th
Claudio Bianchi is a reclusive farmer who lives contentedly with his animals on an Italian hillside.
Meet Matt Hunter, the newest detective in town. He’s an ex-minister, now professor of sociology wr
You, dear reader, ‘like film’. Your family are aware of this. You also have some sort of tenuous
scroll back to top

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Other articles in Book Reviews

DOCTOR WHO BBC BOOK REISSUES 07 December 2016

IN CALABRIA 03 December 2016

PURGED 03 December 2016

AN A-Z OF CUMBRIA AND THE LAKE DISTRICT ON FILM 29 November 2016

THOUGHT X: FICTIONS AND HYPOTHETICALS 29 November 2016

BATMAN: A CELEBRATION OF THE CLASSIC TV SERIES 25 November 2016

FINK ANGEL: LEGACY 22 November 2016

THE ART OF MOANA 22 November 2016

RUNEMARKS 21 November 2016

CLASS: THE STONE HOUSE 21 November 2016

- Entire Category -

Sign up today!
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner

      
      
 
...
 
 
...
 
 
 
Notice: Undefined index: sub_content in D:\inetpub\wwwroot\modules\mod_yt_content_slideshowii\tmpl\theme4.php on line 144
Notice: Undefined index: sub_content in D:\inetpub\wwwroot\modules\mod_yt_content_slideshowii\tmpl\theme4.php on line 144
Notice: Undefined index: sub_content in D:\inetpub\wwwroot\modules\mod_yt_content_slideshowii\tmpl\theme4.php on line 144
Notice: Undefined index: sub_content in D:\inetpub\wwwroot\modules\mod_yt_content_slideshowii\tmpl\theme4.php on line 144