Book Review: THE CORPSE RAT KING

PrintE-mail Written by Ed Fortune

The Corpse Rat King Review

Book Review: The Corpse Rat King / Author: Lee Battersby / Publisher: Angry Robot  / Release Date: Out Now

First impressions count in storytelling as much as they do in reality, so when we first meet Marius Hellespont, the protagonist of The Corpse Rat King, we see him picking the belongings of the bodies of fallen soldiers, and know exactly how far this man can fall. Or so we think. Rather than being some sort of dark, gritty fantasy cliché, filled with sorrow, lament and introspection on how precious every moment is, what we get is a well pitched fantasy romp filled with good ideas and clever moments.

Poor Marius picks the wrong corpse, that of the recently slain king, and for his troubles, finds himself thrust into the land of the dead, cursed to roam the land looking for someone to rule the underworld. Of course, being less hero and more a weasel in human form, Marius does his best to out-run his fate, which presents a lot of problems as the dead are everywhere, and far outnumber the living.

Battersby mixes dark sensibilities with a pitch perfect sense of humour and strong talent for action. The main characters are likeable enough, and it is written in an easy going, cinematic style that really suits the story. We get immersed into the land of Scorby, with its mad kings, endless poor and hidden magic, whilst somehow keeping a foot in the real world, despite a heavy dose of wild fantasy. This is a tale of con-men, their victims and the undead, and will appeal to fans of Scott Lynch or Mark Lawrence, or anyone who likes a not-so-loveable rogue.



Suggested Articles:
A few years ago, pirates beset the worlds of fantasy fiction. Not the online kind, but the ocean-goi
Adrian Barnes’ debut novel Nod is an interesting take on the end of the world. Imagine if, rather
Rob Boffard’s second entry in the Outer Earth series is a taught, menacing cosmic thriller, with m
When Milligan Clodthorpe, gentleman arachnid, accepts an invitation to stay with his cousin Gertrude
scroll back to top

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Other articles in Book Reviews

THE GUNS OF IVREA 12 February 2016

ALL THE BIRDS IN THE SKY 10 February 2016

NOD 10 February 2016

ZERO-G 03 February 2016

SHERLOCK HOLMES AND THE WHITE WORM 02 February 2016

CONFESSIONS OF A GENTLEMAN ARACHNID 30 January 2016

SPORADIC TOO: INFECTIONS 30 January 2016

THE PAGAN NIGHT 28 January 2016

STAR WARS: THE FORCE AWAKENS NOVELISATION 28 January 2016

WHEN YOU GIVE AN IMP A PENNY 24 January 2016

- Entire Category -

Sign up today!
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner

Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner