Book Review: THE CORPSE RAT KING

PrintE-mail Written by Ed Fortune

The Corpse Rat King Review

Book Review: The Corpse Rat King / Author: Lee Battersby / Publisher: Angry Robot  / Release Date: Out Now

First impressions count in storytelling as much as they do in reality, so when we first meet Marius Hellespont, the protagonist of The Corpse Rat King, we see him picking the belongings of the bodies of fallen soldiers, and know exactly how far this man can fall. Or so we think. Rather than being some sort of dark, gritty fantasy cliché, filled with sorrow, lament and introspection on how precious every moment is, what we get is a well pitched fantasy romp filled with good ideas and clever moments.

Poor Marius picks the wrong corpse, that of the recently slain king, and for his troubles, finds himself thrust into the land of the dead, cursed to roam the land looking for someone to rule the underworld. Of course, being less hero and more a weasel in human form, Marius does his best to out-run his fate, which presents a lot of problems as the dead are everywhere, and far outnumber the living.

Battersby mixes dark sensibilities with a pitch perfect sense of humour and strong talent for action. The main characters are likeable enough, and it is written in an easy going, cinematic style that really suits the story. We get immersed into the land of Scorby, with its mad kings, endless poor and hidden magic, whilst somehow keeping a foot in the real world, despite a heavy dose of wild fantasy. This is a tale of con-men, their victims and the undead, and will appeal to fans of Scott Lynch or Mark Lawrence, or anyone who likes a not-so-loveable rogue.



Suggested Articles:
This hefty hardback follows on from 2015’s The Art of Horror, which covered classical art pieces b
As the title suggests, this large format, hardback book is divided into three parts. The first part
They’ve called Imber the ‘lost village’ ever since the British Army moved in at the beginning
When Drew Finch’s trouble-prone brother Mason is expelled from school and sent to the Residential
scroll back to top

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Other articles in Book Reviews

THE ART OF HORROR MOVIES: AN ILLUSTRATED HISTORY 19 October 2017

ALIENS: PAST, PRESENT, FUTURE 17 October 2017

THE LOST VILLAGE 17 October 2017

THE TREATMENT 17 October 2017

A PLAGUE OF GIANTS 16 October 2017

BEFORE 16 October 2017

THE WORLD OF LORE – MONSTROUS CREATURES 16 October 2017

ALIEN: COVENANT ORIGINS 16 October 2017

THE GENIUS PLAGUE 16 October 2017

STAR WARS ART: RALPH MCQUARRIE – 100 POSTCARDS 15 October 2017

- Entire Category -

Sign up today!
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner