NINEFOX GAMBIT

PrintE-mail Written by Ed Fortune

Science Fiction is a genre which tends to encourage originality and weirdness in equal measure. Space is very big, which means that creators have plenty of room to try out the strangest of ideas. Yoon Ha Lee’s Nine Fox Gambit is an excellent example of this; it is big in every possible way. It’s a space opera story with ghosts, social commentary, epic battle, but it’s also much more than that.

One of the novel’s central ideas is that entire civilisations are run on an calendrical systems. This means that the beliefs, calendar, and observances of society create topologies that in turn alter the fundamental laws of reality and allow the use of strange and exotic weapons.  The story centres on Kel Cheris, a brilliant captain who happens to be down on their luck. The only mission they’re allowed to embark upon is an insanely hard one; They must recapture the impregnable space station, the Fortress of Scattered Needles. Her ally is tactician Shuos Jedao, the only person to ever get into the station. This might sound like a standard sci-fi trope, but Lee adds their own twist to it. For a start, Shuos is sort of dead. And insane.

The writing is superb and clever. The ideas are strong and constantly fascinating.  The pacing is a quite bumpy, however. In order to cram in so much world building, something has to suffer and in this case, it’s a consistent speed to the action. We go from space battle to personal drama to really cool exposition pretty quickly at times, and though all these elements are great on their own, they can be a little jarring for those of us who like to read at more than a leisurely pace.

Though this is, at its core, a pulp sci-fi page turner, it’s also intelligently written in a way that would appeal to fans of Hannu Rajaniemi and Ian M Banks.  That said, don’t be afraid of the complex ideas here; the super science blurs into magic pretty quickly, lending to the space opera stylings of the book.  Yoon Ha Lee is a powerful talent, and one to watch out for.

NINEFOX GAMBIT / AUTHOR: YOON HA LEE / PUBLISHER: SOLARIS / RELEASE DATE: OUT NOW
 


Suggested Articles:
When Bram Stoker wrote Dracula, he created a legend. Practically everyone knows the story of the vam
Kim Newman’s Anno Dracula series continues as the last in a collection of nineteen short stories t
Let’s be clear from the start. A Conjuring of Light, the much anticipated third and final novel in
Gwendolyn Bloom is a teenage schoolgirl who, ever since her mother was murdered, has spent her life
scroll back to top

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Other articles in Book Reviews

POWERS OF DARKNESS 24 February 2017

ANNO DRACULA 1899 AND OTHER STORIES 24 February 2017

A CONJURING OF LIGHT 23 February 2017

THE SONG RISING 21 February 2017

PSEUDOTOOTH 21 February 2017

THE CRUELTY 20 February 2017

SLOW BULLETS 18 February 2017

THE NINTH RAIN 14 February 2017

THIS YOUNG MONSTER 14 February 2017

THE TIME MACHINE 13 February 2017

- Entire Category -

Sign up today!
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner

      
      
 
 
 
...