Clarke Award 2017 Shortlist Announced

Written by Ed Fortune Wednesday, 03 May 2017

Book News

2017 marks the 100th Anniversary of Arthur C Clarke (he was born in December 1917), and his incredible legacy continues to be celebrated in many ways, including the Arthur C Clarke Award. The prize is for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The winner receives a prize consisting of a number of pounds sterling equal to the current year.

The shortlist includes some of STARBURST’s favourites and is very strong, interesting and engaging list, and can be found below.
After Atlas by Emma Newman

A Closed and Common Orbit byBecky Chambers

Ninefox Gambit byYoon Ha Lee

The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead

Central Station by Lavie Tidhar

Occupy Me by Tricia Sullivan

The winner will be announced on Thursday 27th July at an award ceremony held in partnership with the Foyles Flagship Bookshop, Charing Cross Road, London. Tickets will be available shortly. Those interested in following the award can sign-up to their newsletter here.
We asked Tom Hunter, the current Director the Arthur C. Clarke Award, to explain the award in more detail, he told us:
The Arthur C. Clarke Award is a juried prize, with each jury member being nominated by one of our supporting organisations; the Science Fiction Foundation, the British Science Fiction Association and the SCI-FI-LONDON film festival. Judges serve a maximum of two years, which aren't always consecutive, and the result is a different panel coming fresh to the award every year.

The truth though is that running the Clarke Award is more like strapping in for a deep space mission with HAL 9000 as your co-pilot. You trust you're working with the best there is, but the outcomes can often end up light years from the original mission parameters.

Where we've end up this year is ultimately for the fans to decide, but speaking as a fan myself I can't help but think this is one of our all-time best shortlists. It's hugely diverse, deeply imaginative and a great tribute to the memory of Sir Arthur himself as we celebrate the centenary year of his birth in 2017.

Chair of the Judges, Andrew M. Butler added:

Every year our industrious judges sift through scores of novels to pick six to represent the state of the sf field. They've chosen a first timer and a previous winner, as well as writers in the process of building great reputations. Any of these could win -- at this point I cannot begin to guess.

STARBURST wishes all the nominees the best of luck.


Find your local STARBURST stockist HERE, or buy direct from us HERE. For our digital edition (available to read on your iOS, Android, Amazon, Windows 8, Samsung and/or Huawei device - all for just £1.99), visit MAGZTER DIGITAL NEWSSTAND.




Suggested Articles:
Following the hugely successful FrightFest Guide to Exploitation Movies, Fab Press and the team behi
One of the most revered and collectable non-fiction books from recent times is Stephen Thrower’s B
Those fine creators of books that look incredible on the shelf, The Folio Society, has produced a sp
Online voting for the 2017 Gemmell Awards has opened. The fantasy novel awards are voted for by the
scroll back to top

Add comment

Security code

Sign up today!