Volunteers honoured by BFS Awards

Written by Ed Fortune Sunday, 25 September 2016

Book News

The British Fantasy Society has honoured the hard work of its volunteers as part of its annual British Fantasy Society Awards ceremony. The Karl Edward Wagner Award also known as The Special Award, was granted to ‘The FantasyCon redshirts, past and present’. The award is only given to those considered to have made an important contribution to the genre or the Society. It is a relatively new award.

It was started in 2015 and is named after the editor and fantasy writer Karl Edward Wagner, who passed away in 1994. Thirty small awards will be distributed to the Red Shirt team members from over the last two years.

You can contribute your own suggestions for the 2017 BFS Awards here. You can find out more about the society at www.britishfantasysociety.org

The full list of winners was announced on Sunday, September 25th, 2016, at the awards banquet at FantasyCon 2016 in Scarborough. They are listed below:

Best anthology: The Doll Collection, ed. Ellen Datlow (Tor Books)

Best artist: Julie Dillon

Best collection: Ghost Summer: Stories, Tananarive Due (Prime Books)

Best comic/graphic novel: Bitch Planet, Kelly Sue DeConnick, Valentine De Landro, Robert Wilson IV and Cris Peter (Image Comics) (#2–5)

Best fantasy novel (the Robert Holdstock Award): Uprooted, Naomi Novik (Macmillan)

Best film/television production: Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, Peter Harness (BBC One)

Best horror novel (the August Derleth Award): Rawblood, Catriona Ward (Weidenfeld & Nicolson)

Best independent press: Angry Robot (Marc Gascoigne)

Best magazine/periodical: Beneath Ceaseless Skies, ed. Scott H. Andrews (Firkin Press)

Best newcomer (the Sydney J. Bounds Award): Zen Cho, for Sorcerer to the Crown (Macmillan)

Best non-fiction: Letters to Tiptree, ed. Alexandra Pierce and Alisa Krasnostein (Twelfth Planet Press)

Best novella: The Pauper Prince and the Eucalyptus Jinn, Usman T. Malik (Tor.com)

Best short fiction: Fabulous Beasts, Priya Sharma (Tor.com)

The Special Award (the Karl Edward Wagner Award): The FantasyCon redshirts, past and present.


Find your local STARBURST stockist HERE, or buy direct from us HERE. For our digital edition (available to read on your iOS, Android, Amazon, Windows 8, Samsung and/or Huawei device - all for just £1.99), visit MAGZTER DIGITAL NEWSSTAND.



Suggested Articles:
The British Fantasy Society has had its annual convention, and that means that the winners of the Br
Following the hugely successful FrightFest Guide to Exploitation Movies, Fab Press and the team behi
One of the most revered and collectable non-fiction books from recent times is Stephen Thrower’s B
Those fine creators of books that look incredible on the shelf, The Folio Society, has produced a sp
scroll back to top


0 #1 Stephen Theaker 2016-10-04 05:53
Great article, but the society has been handing out the Special Award for a long time, it definitely didn't begin in 2015. First was in 1973, then on and off since 1981. Karl Edward Wagner's name was added to the award after he passed away. Full list of winners is here: http://www.britishfantasysociety.org/british-fantasy-awards/the-british-fantasy-awards-a-short-history/

Add comment

Security code

Sign up today!