BFS Award Shortlist Announced

Written by Ed Fortune Wednesday, 08 June 2016

Book News

The shortlist for the prestigious British Fantasy Society Award has been announced.

We are particularly pleased to note that genre favourite and cutting edge cool indie publisher Fox Spirit Books has been shortlisted for Best Indie Press. They are also up for Best Collection with The Stars Seem So Far Away, a selection of short stories that take place in the same world and build to a shared conclusion. Fox Spirit’s brilliantly spooky collection African Monsters is also up for Best Anthology.

Other nominees of note include Adrian Tchaikovsky, who is up for Best Fantasy Novel with Guns of the Dawn and Sarah Pinborough, who has been nominated for Best Horror Novel for The Death House.

The complete list of nominees can be found below.

Best Anthology

African Monsters, ed. Margrét Helgadóttir and Jo Thomas (Fox Spirit Books)

Aickman’s Heirs, ed. Simon Strantzas (Undertow Publications)

Best British Horror 2015, ed. Johnny Mains (Salt Publishing)

The Doll Collection, ed. Ellen Datlow (Tor Books)

The 2nd Spectral Book of Horror Stories, ed. Mark Morris (Spectral Press)


Best Artist

Ben Baldwin

Vincent Chong

Julie Dillon

Evelinn Enoksen

Sarah Anne Langton

Jeffrey Alan Love


Best Collection

Ghost Summer: Stories, Tananarive Due (Prime Books)

Monsters, Paul Kane (The Alchemy Press)

Probably Monsters, Ray Cluley (ChiZine Publications)

Scar City, Joel Lane (Eibonvale Press)

Skein and Bone, V.H. Leslie (Undertow Publications)

The Stars Seem So Far Away, Margrét Helgadóttir (Fox Spirit Books)


Best Comic/Graphic Novel

Bitch Planet, Kelly Sue DeConnick, Valentine De Landro, Robert Wilson IV and Cris Peter (Image Comics) (#2–5)

Ms. Marvel, Vol. 2: Generation Why, G. Willow Wilson, Jacob Wyatt and Adrian Alphona (Marvel)

Nimona, Noelle Stevenson (HarperTeen)

Red Sonja, Gail Simone and Walter Geovani (Dynamite Entertainment) (#14–18)

Saga, Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples (Image Comics) (#25–32)

The Sandman: Overture, Neil Gaiman, J.H. Williams III and Dave Stewart (Vertigo)


Best Fantasy Novel (The Robert Holdstock Award)

Guns of the Dawn, Adrian Tchaikovsky (Tor)

Half a War, Joe Abercrombie (HarperVoyager)

The Iron Ghost, Jen Williams (Headline)

Signal to Noise, Silvia Moreno-Garcia (Solaris)

Sorcerer to the Crown, Zen Cho (Macmillan)

Uprooted, Naomi Novik (Macmillan)


Best Film/Television Production

Inside No. 9: The Trial of Elizabeth Gadge, Reece Shearsmith and Steve Pemberton (BBC Two)

Jessica Jones: AKA WWJD?, Scott Reynolds (Netflix)

Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, Peter Harness (BBC One)

Mad Max: Fury Road, George Miller, Brendan McCarthy and Nico Lathouris (Warner Bros. Pictures et al.)

Midwinter of the Spirit, Stephen Volk (ITV Studios)

Star Wars: The Force Awakens, by Lawrence Kasdan, J.J. Abrams and Michael Arndt (Lucasfilm et al.)


Best Horror Novel (The August Derleth Award)

A Cold Silence, Alison Littlewood (Jo Fletcher Books)

The Death House, Sarah Pinborough (Gollancz)

Lost Girl, Adam Nevill (Pan Books)

Rawblood, Catriona Ward (Weidenfeld & Nicholson)

The Silence, Tim Lebbon (Titan Books)

Welcome to Night Vale, Joseph Fink and Jeffrey Cranor (Orbit)


Best Independent Press

The Alchemy Press (Peter Coleborn and Jan Edwards)

Angry Robot (Marc Gascoigne)

Fox Spirit Books (Adele Wearing)

Newcon Press (Ian Whates)


Best Magazine/Periodical

Beneath Ceaseless Skies, ed. Scott H. Andrews (Firkin Press)

Black Static, ed. Andy Cox (TTA Press)

Holdfast Magazine, ed. Laurel Sills and Lucy Smee (Laurel Sills and Lucy Smee)

Interzone, ed. Andy Cox (TTA Press)

Strange Horizons, ed. Niall Harrison (Strange Horizons)

Best Newcomer (The Sydney J. Bounds Award)

Becky Chambers, for The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet (Hodder & Stoughton)

Zen Cho, for Sorcerer to the Crown (Macmillan)

Peter Newman, for The Vagrant (HarperVoyager)

Steven Poore, for The Heir to the North (Kristell Ink)

Marc Turner, for When the Heavens Fall (Titan Books)


Best Non-Fiction

The Art of Horror: An Illustrated History, ed. Stephen Jones (Applause Theatre & Cinema Books)

Fantasy-Faction, ed. Marc Aplin and Jennie Ivins (Fantasy-Faction)

Ginger Nuts of Horror, ed. Jim Mcleod (Jim McLeod)

King for a Year, ed. Mark West (Mark West)

Letters to Tiptree, ed. Alexandra Pierce and Alisa Krasnostein (Twelfth Planet Press)

Matrilines, Kari Sperring (Strange Horizons)

Best Novella

Albion Fay, Mark Morris (Spectral Press)

Binti, Nnedi Okorafor (

The Bureau of Them, Cate Gardner (Spectral Press)

The Pauper Prince and the Eucalyptus Jinn, Usman T. Malik (

Witches of Lytchford, Paul Cornell (


Best Short Fiction

The Blue Room, V.H. Leslie (Skein and Bone)

Dirt Land, Ralph Robert Moore (Black Static #49)

Fabulous Beasts, Priya Sharma (

Hippocampus, Adam Nevill (Terror Tales of the Ocean)

Strange Creation, Frances Kay (Tenebris Nyxies)

When The Moon Man Knocks, Cate Gardner (Black Static #48)

The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on Sunday, September 25th at FantasyCon 2016 in Scarborough.


Find your local STARBURST stockist HERE, or buy direct from us HERE. For our digital edition (available to read on your iOS, Android, Amazon, Windows 8, Samsung and/or Huawei device - all for just £1.99), visit MAGZTER DIGITAL NEWSSTAND.




Suggested Articles:
The British Fantasy Society has had its annual convention, and that means that the winners of the Br
Following the hugely successful FrightFest Guide to Exploitation Movies, Fab Press and the team behi
One of the most revered and collectable non-fiction books from recent times is Stephen Thrower’s B
Those fine creators of books that look incredible on the shelf, The Folio Society, has produced a sp
scroll back to top

Add comment

Security code

Sign up today!